I think I’m seeing a pattern here. This second volume of Jean-Marie LeClair violin concertos features four selections: two each from his Opus 7 (1739) and Opus 10 (1743). And just as they did in volume one, the concertos share the same numbers. In this case, nos. 1 and 3.

Violinist Leila Schayegh and La Cetra Barockorchester Basel perform to the same high standard as they did in volume one. The ensemble sound is particularly pleasing.

The liner notes point out that the majority of players use plain gut strings, which have a mellower tone than modern steel strings. And they went with much lower tuning.

Modern practice sets A at 440 Hz. The performers opted for A 408 Hz, a much lower pitch. It was the standard for most of Baroque France, making it a logical choice for authenticity. And, I think, the lower pitch is kinder to the strings. The end result is a soft, warm ensemble sound that’s quite pleasing to the ear (at least my ears, anyway).

Soloist Leila Schayegh delivers lively performances throughout. She handles all of LeClair’s technical challenges with alacrity. I was especially impressed with her ornamentations. Her mordants and trills were clean and articulated, adding brilliance into the notes they decorated.

As with volume one, this release presents four stylish and elegant violin concertos from the French Baroque. All well-performed and leaving me awaiting the rest of the series.

Jean-Marie LeClair: Concerti per Violino, Vol. 2
Op. 7 & 10 – Nos. 1 & 3
Leila Schayegh, violin
La Cetra Barockorchester Basel
Glossa 926202